CEEPUS is an acronym for "Central European Exchange Program for University Studies".

Current member countries: Albania, Austria, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, the Czech Republic, Hungary, Macedonia, Moldova, Montenegro, Poland, Romania, Serbia, the Slovak Republic and Slovenia. Prishtina/Kosovo is also participating. 

The legal basis for CEEPUS is an international agreement signed by the member states and open for accession.

The main activity of CEEPUS are university networks operating joint programs ideally leading to Joint Degrees, esp. Joint Doctoral Programs. CEEPUS covers mobility grants for students and teachers in this framework.

The main objectives are:

  • Focus on joint PhD programs
  • Promote cooperation in the framework of the EU Strategy for the Danube Region.

With CEEPUS, there is no transfer of funds: There is an internal currency of "1 scholarship month" instead. Each country pays its INCOMING students and teachers. The CEEPUS Agreement also specifies that these grants be comprehensive grants linked to the local cost of living. 

All information about  the programme are available on general web page http://www.ceepus.info